Reading List from Summer 2010

When in college, it’s very hard to read for pleasure. What with all the studying and extraneous commitments, like the bars and shopping, it’s hard to buckle down and just read peacefully. So I capitalized on my reading time during the summer. Here’s a list of books I read during the summer of 2010

1. To Kill a Mockingbird-Harper Lee  [as beautiful as people say it is. If you haven’t read it yet and you’re interested in the human psyche, justice, and the law (because law and justice are two vastly different things), pick up this book!]

2. Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry- Mildred Taylor [A look at the life of a 9 year old black girl in the 60s. The narrative voice was charming and blunt, a perfect combination. It revolves around the importance of owning land as a black and the general effects of racism on children.]

3. The Pigman- Paul Zindel [It was interesting. I didn’t like it. But I didn’t dislike it. Loneliness and its effects seemed to be a prominent theme for me, but you might have to read it and judge for yourself!]

4. If Beale Street Could Talk- James Baldwin [the power of love shines through not just as a romantic aspect but through the power of family unity. It’s a harsh story with a bittersweet ending. Sorry, did I spoil it for you? Give it a shot anyway.]

5. Forever- Judy Blume [teenage sexuality. Nuff said.]

6. Rainbow Boys- Alex Sanchez [A coming of age story for gay teenagers. Not a book that I’ve read before and it was interesting to see the narration. I don’t think I’d read it again, but for a one time read, it was fine]

7. Alice in Wonderland- Lewis Carroll [ah. A classic. You either love it or hate it. I love it.]

8. The House on Mango Street- Sandra Cisneros [a book made up of vignettes. Not my favourite but I know some people who loved it. A coming of age novel dealing with a Latin girl growing up in the United States.]

9. I Know What You Did Last Summer- Lois Duncan [I first read this when I was 10 because it was on my summer reading list for 6th grade. It prompted me to watch the movie. I thought the movie was better. But that could be because I’m partial to Freddie Prinze Jr….]

10. Pride and Prejudice- Jane Austen [Timeless. Read it. Then watch the Colin Firth version. Rinse and repeat.]

11. Tom Sawyer- Mark Twain [I was working as an English summer teacher in a school in India. I taught Tom Sawyer to my 6th grade kids and I have to say I love the beginning, I’m a fan of the middle, but it gets slow towards the end. I did enjoy teaching them the word “Antebellum” though. I think that might be all they took away from it. That and learning how to trick other children into doing your chores. Hmm…]

12. Wicked- Gregory Maguire [ghastly.]

13. Kidnapped- Robert Louis Stevenson [hardly remember the story line. Either I wasn’t paying attention or it wasn’t worthy of much remembrance in my eyes. Considering the fact that I taught it to my 7th graders, you be the judge.]

14. The Catcher in the Rye- J.D. Salinger [this happens to be my boyfriend’s favourite book. I’ve read it twice now and I just cannot see the appeal. Maybe it’s a guy thing?]

15. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone- J.K. Rowling [if you haven’t read Harry Potter right now, I don’t know what I can say to you. I may just sputter with indignant rage or stammer in disbelief. The Potter books are my life.]

16. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets- J.K. Rowling [same as above]

17. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban- J.K. Rowling [same as above]

18. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire- J.K. Rowling [same as above]

19. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix- J.K. Rowling [same as above]

20. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince- J.K. Rowling [same as above]

21. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows- J.K. Rowling [same as above] [Note: Harry Potter is not just literature. It’s pure genius.]

22. Oliver Twist (complete and unabridged [finally])- Charles Dickens [I’m a Dickens fan and I find Oliver Twist to be his second best book, my favourite being A Tale of Two Cities. If you like Dickens’ style of writing, definitely read this book. If you’re unsure about it, read it anyway.]

23. The Associate- John Grisham [Well, who doesn’t love John Grisham? For those of you not in the know, he writes intricately-woven thrilling mysteries that revolve around the law 99.9% of the time].

Read any of these? Agree or disagree with my mini-reviews? Let’s chat about it! All (polite) opinions are welcome 😉

Leave a Reply

