I got semi-famous for reading Harry Potter

When I woke up that morning in 2003, I did what I had done every morning for the past month — crossed off another day on my countdown to the Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix book release. It felt like a pretty ordinary morning to me, but that changed radically when my mother came home with some interesting news.

Mother: So I signed you up for something I think you might like.

Me *disgruntled*: Don’t I already do enough at school?

Mother: Oh ok. I’ll just turn down the Harry Potter offer then.

Me: WHAT HARRY POTTER OFFER?

Mother: I met a lady at the gym today who was looking for a young fan to review the latest book before it came out.

…You can guess the rest…

“Believing the sharpest critic of a Harry Potter book is one for whom it is written, we’ve gotten 13-year-old Sabrina to review the latest Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. She began reading on Saturday morning and barring a lunch and dinner break, she was riveted. Wild horses couldn’t drag her away, etc. Result; She had devoured the 766-page book by 9 pm. And as if that wasn’t enough, she began leafing through it again on Sunday. Here’s what she thinks…”

 

“13-year-old sizes up Potter- “It is a literary delight and a real, rare masterpiece,” says Sabrina (13) about Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. So what secrets lie in store for the boy wizard at Hogwarts this time? >> The LIST” 

I GUESS one could call me the sort of person that takes my books to the dinner table. If I could describe the most relaxing day, it would be one filled with reading my favourites: Roald Dahl, Charles Dickens and Jane Austen. However, I never really felt as though they had ever moved me. I definitely had to eat my words when I began the Harry Potter series. These books had a charm that captured my mind from the very start- a story of a regular boy, staying in London, but part of another world surrounded by magic. In short, a story that is absolutely divine.

            Though I was waiting with eager anticipation for the fifth book, I hadn’t the slightest idea of how phenomenal and captivating it was to be. What made it so was that it finally blows the lid off secrets that had been hidden in the last four books.

            The Order of the Phoenix takes off as all the others have done, during the summertime at the Dursley’s. However, the beginning isn’t quite like all the others (where usually Harry’s background is explained), but immediately plunges into suspense and excitement. Harry, Hermione, Ron and Professor Dumbledore, along with their friends and guardians, revive an organization to protect Harry and to stop Lord Voldemort once and for all, after his return at the end of The Goblet of Fire. While doing so, Harry discovers that a lot of secrets from the past have not been told to him and what he is about to discover during this fifth year at Hogwarts, will turn his world upside-down. Could it be that Voldemort isn’t the only thing that Harry is being protected from?

            This book has more life in it than all the other four put together. There’s more action and suspense at every second and lots of emotion as bonds of friendship among the characters grow stronger than ever before. It touched my heart as I laughed and cried along with it. I don’t recall having read a book that has made such an impact on me, nor do I think that I ever will.

            This is a fantasy that takes you through excitement, adventure, laughter, sadness, and certain points of reality at times- as when Harry travels down the bumpy road of having a crush.

            J.K. Rowling has outdone herself, as this book shows nothing but sheer brilliance of the imagination and keeps the readers at the edge of their seats. It is a literary delight and a real, rare masterpiece. I’m sure that readers will savour the book till the very last word and probably read it again and again as I am doing.

            I take my hat off to you, J.K. Rowling, not only as the author, but also as the person that I admire most and whose hand I would sincerely like to shake!

 


Leave a Reply

