Reading List from Summer 2009

I think this was the summer that I really began to take advantage of my time off, despite my internship, and read as much as I could.

1. Madame Bouvery- Gustave Flaubert [I read this on the plane home and it was one of those classics that was fun to read and easy to forget.]

2. The Little Black Book of Style- Nina Garcia [it’s like a closet and shopping guide. Fun for any teen girl or even adult woman who just wants to have a new eye towards her old wardrobe.]

3. Angels and Demons- Dan Brown [I highly recommend this book. I’m still torn as to whether I prefer this to Da Vinci Code. Maybe a re-read is called for.]

4. Twilight-Stephanie Meyer [ok. This was the summer that I was suffering from a terrible breakup that I am now unbelievably thankful for. But at the time, I was in the “woe is me” stages. Never a good time to read Twilight. My notes on this list state that I described this book with the following words: “DISCLAIMER:- read only if willing to fall irrevocably in love with a fictional vampire”. Someone smack me. Oh wait, don’t worry I already smacked myself. Sorry Twilight fans, move along the list so that you don’t start hating me for what I’m about to say. Stephanie Meyer really knows how to appeal on a first read. She essentially created what every girl would consider, at first sight, the perfect man. But when you close the pages and step away from the sparkly, suave, charming, educated, vampire…reality sets in. When you read it for the second time, you start to realize how disturbing the story line really is. But this one isn’t even bad. It’s the books that follow that make me ache inside for the teenage girls that fall for this bologna.

5. New Moon- Stephanie Meyer [i skipped chapters out of boredom]

6. Eclipse- Stephanie Meyer [not bad. The love triangle is getting a bit much.]

7. Breaking Dawn – Stephanie Meyer [What. The hell. Was that. ???????????? He falls in love with the baby? She apologizes for getting bruised while having violent vampire sex? Oh come on now. And was the baby eating and kicking it’s way out really necessary? I don’t know. It was like Titanic hit the iceberg and knew it was sinking so decided to go all out with a bang anyway.]

8. Midnight Sun (the leaked 12 chapters)- Stephanie Meyer [I’m just interested in reading Twilight from Edward’s point of view.]

9. The Family at Red Roofs- Enid Blyton [I LOVE Enid Blyton. Childhood hero and I still read all her books as happily as I did when I was 6. This is a particularly lovely one about a loving family that comes together in times of crisis. And spoiler: it’s a happy ending. But I love those too!]

10. A Tale of Two Cities- Charles Dickens [My all-time favourite Dickens novel. If you haven’t read it yet, do. Aside from the story line being superb, his every word is like music. His metaphors and smooth imagery are unsurpassable.]

11. Shopaholic and Baby- Sophie Kinsella [clearly I read out of order, but I loved this one so much that I decided to read the whole series and I wasn’t sorry]

12. My Family and Other Animals- Gerald Durrell [now, I won’t lie. There are parts of this book that are duller than watching paint dry. But the other parts make up for it in the sense that you will be on the floor convulsing with laughter. Never read this book in public unless you want to be stared at and majorly judged. I had to study this book in 8th grade and I unfortunately had to endure all the dull parts. My advice is to scan and flip for the chapters that involve Family interaction as opposed to Animal interaction and settle yourself for a rip-roaring time. It doesn’t hurt that the entire story is true…A strong recommendation here!]

13. The Devil Wears Prada- Lauren Weisberger [I think I liked it just a tad less than the movie. It’s a light read, not always upbeat, but a quick one.]

14. Confessions of a Shopaholic- Sophie Kinsella [love it. Love the whole series]

15. Shopaholic takes Manhattan- Sophie Kinsella [always a bundle of laughs!]

16. Shopaholic ties the Knot- Sophie Kinsella

17. Shopaholic and Sister- Sophie Kinsella

18. Can you keep a secret?-Sophie Kinsella [Writing style very similar to the Shopaholic series but I prefer the series to these individual books.]

19. The Undomestic Goddess- Sophie Kinsella [same as above]

20. Remember Me-Sophie Kinsella [same as above]

21. Airhead- Meg Cabot [I don’t really remember what it was about. Fun but forgettable?]

22. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban- J.K. Rowling [you all know my undying love and devotion for Harry Potter books by now.]

23. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows- J.K. Rowling [my favourite Harry Potter book. The day it released, I read it twice.]

24. The Scarlet Pimpernel- Baroness Emmuska Orcz [definitely a fan of this book. Loved the twist, even though it was a touch predictable!]

25. James and the Giant Peach- Roald Dahl [what a great classic. Perfect no matter how young or old you are!]

26. LA Candy- Lauren Conrad [drivel.]

27. Protect and Defend- Vince Flynn [so-so]

Leave a Reply

