Movie Version > Book Version. Uh oh…

I think this might be the first time this has ever happened. Well, the second. The first time I preferred the movie version of a book to the book itself was Pollyanna. I mean, who doesn’t love a good wholesome Hayley Mills movie? The book was, quite frankly, no comparison. But lets face it, for avid readers, this is rare! On principle, we don’t like to admit that an average 2 hour movie captured the story better than the written word and the reader’s imagination.

I also have a feeling when you read what movie I’m referring to, severe judgment might be passed…. but what’s a blog without a little drama?

As you may or may not know, my first read of 2012 was The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. In my review I rated it 5/5 but I emphasized that it wasn’t a “life-changing” book, just a good mystery.

Weeeeelllllll….. I preferred the movie to the book. *Don’t shoot*

I’m currently reading The Girl who Played with Fire, the second instalment in Stieg Larsson’s series. My patience is slowly withering. The books are good, but I personally could do without at least 200-300 pages in the second one. In my opinion, it drags. Make the point, don’t drag it out through 50 pages. While this wasn’t as prominent with the first book, my slow irritation with the second one highlighted the same shortcomings with the first.

The movie served as a strong reminder. Usually, it’s the movie’s duty to shave off what isn’t necessary and provide the bare story, with some fun twists and turns that may not have been in the literary version. Movies usually don’t do the book justice. I’ve often said that the Harry Potter movies, while fun, are not even a representation of the skeleton of the books. My opinion of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was completely opposite. Not only did the movie stay true to the book, even in terms of dialogue, it also made it better. It disregarded all the matter that I probably would have skipped while reading the book a second time, and focused on what made the storyline tick. There was a bit of a change at the end, which usually annoys me. This time, I thought it was not only acceptable but almost an improvement. Sorry Stieg 😦

I feel a bit guilty about all of this. I expect that most of you reading will automatically disagree with me, even without watching the movie. But I couldn’t help it.

Have you seen the movie yet? Do you agree or disagree with me, and why?

PS. Fun fact: Rooney Mara, the main character, is one of four children born to New York Giants executive Timothy Christopher Mara and the granddaughter of Art Rooney, Sr., founder of the Pittsburgh Steelers. Her great-great-grandfather was Tim Mara, founder of the Giants. Damn… NFL royalty. Wouldn’t have guessed that one.

One thought on “Movie Version > Book Version. Uh oh…

  1. I haven’t seen it yet, but I have a sneaking suspicion I’ll agree with you. Fincher is a superb director, and I love the casting and soundtrack.

    I did, however, prefer the books to the Swedish movies. Besides Noomi Rapace (who was PERFECT), I thought the casting was a bit off. It probably has something to do with the cultural disconnect between what I’m used to in American cinema and what European cinema tends toward. I mean, just look at the physical difference between Daniel Craig and Michael Nyqvist. Our Blomkvist is much more believable as a womanizer, on a purely physical level. Although, Nyqvist fits the book description better.

    Looking forward to seeing it more now that I read your post. : )

Leave a Reply

