The J. Alfred Prufrock Society

I first read The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock in my Elective English class in 11th grade. It’s one of my favourite T.S. Eliot poems, but I have never found anyone else who loved it as much as I did.

Fast forward about five years to last night, when I found four people who love it.

It’s so exciting that I just had to share!

“Shall I say, I have gone at dusk through narrow streets

And watched the smoke that rises from the pipes

Of lonely men in shirt-sleeves, leaning out of windows?”

Wait, is it now illegal for me to share these things on my blog? I hope not… the Prufrock Society needs more members!

Ah to hell with it…

“And would it have been worth it, after all,

Would it have been worth while,

After the sunsets and the dooryards and the sprinkled streets

After the novels, after the teacups, after the skirts that trail along the floor

And this, and so much more?

It is impossible to say just what I mean!”

8 thoughts on “The J. Alfred Prufrock Society

  1. I love this poem. In high school I decided to analyze each section of it…. each segment of analysis at least a page in length. Thousands of words later, I felt like I knew T.S. Eliot intimately.

    So… I would like to join your society!

  2. My favourite poem. Have spent my life saying or thinking the words, ‘Let us go then you and I….’ whenever leaving the house with someone!

    I live about twenty miles from Eliot’s resting place at East Coker, Somerset and studied the poem at ‘A’ level. Very evocative stuff. Beautiful.

  3. No! I am not Prince Hamlet, nor was meant to be;
    Am an attendant lord, one that will do
    To swell a progress, start a scene or two,
    Advise the prince; no doubt, an easy tool,
    Deferential, glad to be of use,
    Politic, cautious, and meticulous;
    Full of high sentence, but a bit obtuse;
    At times, indeed, almost ridiculous—
    Almost, at times, the Fool.

    I named my cat and my blog for this poem. Count me in!

  4. I am IN!! This is one of my favorite poems ever. I always felt that those words could have been mine growing up, in fact wishing they were.

    I was so glad to hear Gil Pender (Owen Wilson’s character in “Midnight in Paris”) say to T.S. Eliot when he meets him that Prufrock is like his Mantra! At last, validation after all these years, and who would have guess from a Woody Allen film!

    S’io credesse che mia risposta fosse
    A persona che mai tornasse al mondo,
    Questa fiamma staria senza piu scosse.
    Ma perciocche giammai di questo fondo
    Non torno vivo alcun, s’i’odo il vero,
    Senza tema d’infamia ti rispondo.

  5. Wow, seriously my favorite poem ever! I’m so glad others appreciate it. In my old apartment, I have “I have measured my life in coffee spoons” cut out in ten inch letters on the wall… “I grow old, I grow old… I shall wear my trousers rolled. Do I dare eat a peach?”

  6. Pingback: Have Lava, Will Travel: Coffee in Weston (and Phillip) « The Canberran

Leave a Reply

