Anne of Green Gables

This will be a short and sweet post because the book is a classic. If you’re not a classics fan, you’re just not a classics fan.

Incidentally, I’m a huge fan of classics–but I have to say, this isn’t my all-time favourite. That being said, it was one of those books that grows on you and you end up really enjoying it at the end.

There was one thought that kept rolling through my head as I read this book–each chapter reads like a short story. In fact, once I started thinking of the chapters as short stories, I found myself enjoying the book a lot more. As just one story, the progression seems frustratingly slow at times, despite several years being covered.

Anne’s character reminds me a lot of Pollyanna, with her chatty imaginative ways and her exuberant nature about life itself. It’s a tender thing to watch Marilla and the rest of Avonlea grow to love Anne while Anne also grows to love herself. My favourite parts were the last ten chapters or so, where Anne loses a bit of her flightiness and gains ambition (I love ambitious success stories!). There are some sad moments that came a bit unexpectedly for me (or perhaps I just didn’t want to see it coming) but they shaped the story especially well.

I did pick out a favourite line from the book which I found incredibly stirring: “You’ve thwarted destiny long enough”. I guess you’ll have to read the book to know why this was such a sigh-inspiring moment for me!

It’s always refreshing to read an innocent book. No sex, no cursing, no technology; just nature, friendship, love, and a sweet coming of age story. If you feel like you need a breath of fresh air, read this book.

Anne of Green Gables 

Recommendation Rate 

5 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables

  1. Hi- I enjoyed your review. I can’t remember if I have read the book but perhaps I did years ago. Perhaps I should read it now- I enjoy books of nature, friendship and love.
    ann

    • It is indeed! I love it as well, I got it as a present from Penguin! It was actually really hard to choose because they had Peter Pan in a gorgeous lavender cover, similar style. Anything purple works with me but I hadn’t read Anne of Green Gables since I was about 6….

Leave a Reply

