Happy International Women’s Day!

This post is for my fellow bloggers and readers 🙂

Use the comments section to talk about your favourite female literary characters and why or favourite female authors and why!

To start this off, here are tidbits about my top three favourite women authors!

Enid Blyton defined my childhood as well as millions of others. She wrote 800 books in 40 years, targeting children of all ages. I cannot imagine my life or my library without her books.

Jane Austen wrote Pride and Prejudice, which happens to be one of my favourite classics. She explores the strengths and weaknesses of females through the characters of Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Kitty, Lydia, and Mrs. Bennett. I admire that her female heroines have flaws and her books are a journey of self-realization and exploration as much as social commentaries within an entertaining plot.

J.K. Rowling is my hero. She breathed new life into reading books, for children, adults, and everyone in-between. The richest author alive (or dead, right?), she began her journey on a cafe napkin. She gave us Hermione.

 

Your turn!

 

2 thoughts on “Happy International Women’s Day!

  1. lizzie hexam from dickens’ our mutual friend because she is good, kind, brave (though she probably wouldn’t say so) and resilient.

    kate powell from nora roberts’ holding the dream. she’s a scrapper. (http://bit.ly/wozVxe.) i love her. and yes, i know it’s a romance novel. so what?

  2. After finishing The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill, I would definitely say Aminata Diallo. She is an incredibly strong character and I was swept away by the depth of her emotions. She really exemplified the ways in which women are often the pillars of their communities.

Leave a Reply

