The Complete Adventures of Charlie and Mr. Willy Wonka

Has anyone managed to make it through life without coming across Roald Dahl in some way or form, be it movie, quote, or book? He is one of the greatest story tellers of our time and shall continue to be known so for many years to come. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory holds a particularly special place in my memories for many a reason. When I was six years old, I read it to my best friend to soothe her when she lost her father. When I was 20, a young student of mine who lived in squalid conditions told me that after reading a chapter or two before bed, he had the ‘sweetest’ dreams. He actually slept through the entire night. When a book can leak a few drops of joy into the darkest of situations, it is a beautiful book indeed.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory can send anyone’s imagination soaring. It leaves your mouth watering and your nose tingling with the thick, rich scent of chocolate no matter how many times you’ve read the book. Not to mention, it’s funny. Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, the sequel is less impressive and a bit more on the silly side. I have to admit that some of Roald Dahl’s books have their politically incorrect moments more often than not, but they’re meant in good humour. If I were to introduce a child to his books in today’s time, I would be sure to monitor and explain those particular moments. Instead of sheltering the child, it is better to educate them and let them exercise their own good judgment. I know, easier said than done, but I have done it myself and it’s been a-okay! I definitely laughed out loud at more than a few points in both books.

Overall, I prefer Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator but they’re both very fun reads and ideal for kids who like a good laugh and a world of wonder. Individually, I’d rate the first book with 5 snitches and the second with 2.5. As a result…

The Adventures of Charlie and Mr. Willy Wonka 

Recommendation Rate 

Leave a Reply

