The Da Vinci Code

I’d like to start off with a question.

What do people have against Dan Brown’s books? Feel free to respond in the comments.

Okay, it’s commercial fiction. Um, so? It gets people reading, it gets people passionate about an interesting topic, it certainly doesn’t exploit the trends of bad female role models and poorly described BDSM scenes (can’t imagine what books would!), and frankly it’s a thrilling page turner!

The Da Vinci Code is definitely Dan Brown’s best novel in my opinion and I highly recommend it right off the bat (but read my review anyway).

I read this book when it first gained popularity in the back of my high school classroom in a single school day. I inhaled the story. I was thoroughly fascinated by the facts and theories, and I thought it was one of the most effective thrillers I had read. When I picked it up for a re-read last week, I realized that the writing was so-so but the story was still fantastic. Whether you work in publishing or not, you realize that not every book has to be impeccable literary fiction. Sometimes a book can be just about the story and not so much about the presentation.

One of the parts I had the most fun with while reading The Da Vinci Code was texting fun facts to my boyfriend. I drove him NUTS for two straight days texting him about Leonardo Da Vinci, Mary Magdalene, church theories, and even the little tidbits that Robert Langdon’s character threw in gratuitously. I should mention that he went nuts because I didn’t tell him where I was getting all these fun facts, I just kept texting! Thanks for being such a fun person to share my fun facts with, boyfriend. You are awesome 😉

There’s not much I want to say about this except that I don’t agree with those that feel ‘above’ reading a Dan Brown novel. Give it a shot and you might find yourself caught up in a whirlwind of excitement and learning. If you don’t learn, at least you’re exposed to some very interesting theories that make you want to dig deeper in your own life to form more solid opinions.

 

The Da Vinci Code 

 

Recommendation Rate 

One thought on “The Da Vinci Code

  1. I found it baffling too that there’s so much love/hate/controversy/whatever to this book! It’s a good read!! Have you read Angels & Demons? I really enjoyed that one too.. both of these books, I found myself Googling the locations and artwork to see if they actually looked like that, and how it worked into the story!

Leave a Reply

