Gone Girl

I love a good thriller and unfortunately I’ve only come across one in a year. Gone Girl changed all of that. If you’re looking for suspense, a brain-teaser, and excellent writing, Gone Girl should be your go-to.

tumblr_m6ajri6Vf61qcutuoI’m always apprehensive about a book that everyone raves about. I sort of have a history of not particularly loving anything that’s on the bandwagon…I watch TV shows after they’re completely off the air and after the whole 50 Shades ‘phenomenon’ fiasco, I’m warier than ever of books shooting to the top of the lists. I knew Gone Girl would be good, but after seeing so many people devour it with excitement, I was worried that it had been hyped up too much and I would find it disappointing.

It did not disappoint.

Here’s the best part: like all good thrillers, this one has a fantastic twist. Funnily enough, I saw it coming only because I recognized this plot line from a movie I once saw. Despite predicting the big twist, I was still completely hooked! That was a relief. The characterization was just fantastic. It’s amazing to read a book where you hate both the protagonists and still can’t get enough of them.

I don’t want to go into details because I’m afraid to subtly let something slip. Suffice it to say that this is absolutely a “must-read”. Seriously, stop reading this and go buy it at once. 100% worth it, especially if you’re going on vacation right now and need a plane or beach read. Do it.

Gone Girl  

Recommendation Rate  

Leave a Reply

