The Gypsy King

I can hear my co-worker and lovely friend, Amy, saying “I told you not to doubt me” as I write this post. Mainly because she’s been saying it to me all day. In her defense, it’s because I’ve been continuously texting her variations of “OMG!!!!”, “Holy balls of poo* this is amazing” and other such exclamations. Why? Because, dear friends, The Gypsy King is one great book.

15840662

 

A runaway slave with a shadowy past, sixteen-year-old Persephone has spent four long years toiling beneath the leering gaze of her despised owner and dreaming of a life where she is free to shape her own destiny. Then, one night, a chance encounter with a handsome chicken thief named Azriel changes her life forever.

Sold to him for a small bag of gold coins, Persephone soon discovers what she already suspected: namely, that Azriel is not what he seems. And when she realizes that he believes Persephone has a special destiny—she is determined to escape him and his impossibly broad shoulders.

But things are no longer as simple as they once were.

 

Persephone is *my* kind of female character in a YA book. She’s funny, stubborn, smart, and (best of all) she’s not whiny. If you’re a frequent visitor of this blog, you’ll know how much it irritates me when the main character spends half the book whining, only pausing to perform brief, heroic, and totally believable (…) acts of bravery. As with any good YA book, there’s also a strong presence of the handsome male protagonist with the delightful three’s-a-crowd (or is it?) second handsome male that appears later in the story and steals your heart just when you thought it had been won over.

While it was a very quick read, the plot of The Gypsy King is more convoluted than I expected. As much as I enjoyed just spending time with the characters, I was drawn in to the intrigue that was peppered through each chapter, adding extra spice to the text. I found my brow furrowed at times as I tried to puzzle out what I thought should/would/could happen next, but soon just sat back and allowed Maureen Fergus to lead the way. I was not disappointed and, dare I say, you won’t be either.

 

The Gypsy King  

 

Recommendation Rate 

Leave a Reply

