A Fools Errand

I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the sequel to The Gypsy King. I had to wait a whole 15 hours to do so and there were some touch and go moments…but it was completely worth the wait. 17881333

 

In the final moments of The Gypsy King, a truth was revealed to Persephone and Azriel – one that could change everything forever. For her. For him. For them. For the entire kingdom.

But trapped in a windowless castle chamber with soldiers battering at the door, it seems impossible to believe that they’ll even survive. Indeed, they are a heartbeat from death when Azriel boldly bargains with the Regent Mordecai: release them and they will seek out the mythical healing Pool of Genezing. Mordecai agrees but warns that if they do not return with proof that the pool exists, he’ll make those dearest to them suffer – and he’ll start with King Finnius.

Persephone has never needed Azriel’s teasing warmth as much as she needs it now, but she is finding out there is a price to pay for having broken past promises. Together, they set off on a journey that will take them into the farthest corners of the kingdom.Danger will ever lie ahead and behind them; they will battle men and beasts alike. Will Persephone and Azriel survive these perils? And will this quest see their romance grow cold – or will it burn hotter than ever?

 

I found myself thinking a lot of The Princess Bride while reading this book, which is funny because (I’m sorry to say what I’m about to say…please don’t hate me…) I really disliked that book. I found it tiresome and overdone. Eep…are you still there? I’m sorry, I know the entire world loves The Princess Bride. Here’s the good part though; I thought A Fool’s Errand did it the right way! I found myself laughing, anxious, eager to know more. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. The characters don’t disappoint and while I didn’t find there was a great deal of character growth for all the main personalities in the book, I was too immersed in the plot to mind.

I had the absolute pleasure of meeting Maureen Fergus the same day that I started (and completely inhaled) the book and took the liberty of badgering her to tell me what happens in book three. Folks, she’s a charming fortress. She wouldn’t tell me a thing! So now I’m here, impatiently tapping my fingers on the keyboard, trying to come up with inspiring ways to tell you to READ THIS SERIES IMMEDIATELY until book three comes out. It’s the perfect light but well-crafted adventure novel, perfect for ages 14-99 (or more!).

Fun facts that I did learn from Maureen? Well for starters, Azriel’s character is based on her husband. Ahem, lucky her! Next, her kids are her first and best critics. The best facts are found on her author bio page: http://www.maureenfergus.com/about-the-author.html

If you’re looking for quick, engrossing reads that make you laugh and shake your fist in frustration at various times just go ahead and trust me…pick up The Gypsy King series. Just don’t blame me when you finish the last page of A Fool’s Errand and exclaim, “Seriously?!!? NOW WHAT!”. Book three is coming soon…

 

A Fool’s Errand 

 

Recommendation Rate 

 

Leave a Reply

