Bossypants

What do you do when you’re stuck inside a Barnes and Noble with nowhere to go for the next three hours?

You reach for Tina Fey’s Bossypants.

bossypants

I love Tina Fey but for some reason I never felt compelled to read Bossypants when it came out. When Sheryl Sandberg referenced it in Lean In, I decided to make it my next read. There I was in Barnes and Noble, finishing the last chapter of Lean In with my mind in a career-focused, enthusiastically feminist zone all geared up and ready to tackle Bossypants next.

What I was expecting was smart, sexy, funny Tina Fey telling me how to rule it all and be an all-round awesome career woman in a behind-the-scenes industry that’s male dominated. What I got was Tina Fey’s funny and well-told life story. Once my brain switched gears from ‘career advice and admiration’ to a cool celebrity biography, I started to really enjoy the book. It’s got lots of laugh-out-loud moments and the perfect balance of tactful versus tactless scenarios. My favourite parts were going behind the scenes of SNL with Tina.

All in all, if you’re looking for a quick, light, and amusing read choose Bossypants. I mean really, it’s Tina Fey. Why not?

 

Bossypants 

 

 

Recommendation Rate 

One thought on “Bossypants

Leave a Reply

